Marriage Licenses


By law, the County Clerk’s Office is the only agency in the State of New Mexico permitted to issue marriage licenses. All marriage license applications and marriage certificates are filed as permanent records. Marriage licenses issued by this office are ONLY valid for a ceremony taking place in the State of New Mexico. If you plan to get married in another state, you must contact a marriage license office in the state you wish to have your ceremony performed.  

Marriage licenses are issued and valid immediately. They do not expire and blood tests are NOT required.  


NOTE: It will take approximately 30 minutes to issue you a license. No license will be started after 4:30 PM.

All applicants must appear in person. If an applicant is unable to appear in person, authorization to issue the marriage license must be provided by a District Judge.

For all applicants:

The following is required of any couple applying for a marriage license:

  • Completed application.  Accept the disclaimer, and then select the "Marriage Application, Records and Copy Request" link on the right hand column.
  • Twenty-five dollars ($25.00), payable at the time of appointment. No Exceptions. (NMSA 40-1-11E)
    Applicants must not be related within the degree prohibited by the State of New Mexico (NMSA 40-1-7)
  • Neither applicant may be bound by marriage to another; proof of divorce is NOT required.
  • Our office requires a Witness Form to be completed and returned to our office with your marriage certificate. This form will assist staff in accurately recording your marriage certificate
  • Proof of age and identity required. Proof of age and identity is normally satisfied with a government-issued photo ID.
  • SSN reminder

For applicants who are 16 and 17 years old:

In addition to the above, you must have:

  • An original or certified copy of your birth certificate.
  • The written consent of each living parent listed on the birth certificate.
  • Written consent may be provided in person at the Clerk’s Office or through a notarized statement. If a parent is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate is required. If a parent is not deceased and is unable or unwilling to provide written consent, authorization to issue the marriage license must be provided by a District Judge.

For applicants who are under 16 years of age:

  • Marriages of persons under 16 years of age are only permitted when there is a pregnancy and when a Children’s or Family Court Judge has authorized the marriage.





Step 1.Application

Complete an application online before coming to the Clerk's Office. 


Step 2.Appointment

Schedule an appointment with the Clerk's Office. Please plan 30-45 minutes for your appointment.


Step 3.Return Your License for Recording

After your ceremony, return your signed certificate to the Clerk's Office within 90 days. We will record the official marriage record and provide you, free of charge, with a certified copy of your Certificate. Additional copies of your certificate are available for $2.50 each.


Couples are responsible for making their own ceremony arrangements. For a civil ceremony, the following are telephone numbers of Judges within Los Alamos County who serve in different courts and may perform a marriage ceremony. County Clerk Naomi Maestas is also available to perform civil ceremonies and her information is also below. Two competent witnesses, in addition to the officiant, are required.

-- Judge Elizabeth Allen, Municipal Court (505) 662-8025
-- Judge Catherine Taylor, Magistrate Court (505) 662-2727
-- Judge Michael Redondo, Probate Court (505) 709-7463
-- Clerk Naomi D. Maestas, County Clerk (505) 709-0402

Completed marriage certificates must be returned and filed within ninety (90) days (NMSA 40-1-15) from the date of the marriage ceremony. Whoever performed the marriage is responsible for returning the certificate to the County Clerk where the license was issued.