The County Assessor must mail Notice of Value on or before April 1 of each year unless an extension has been granted by the New Mexico Property Tax Division. If you believe that the Full Value of your property as shown on your Notice of Value does not reflect market value, you must file a petition of protest within 30 (thirty) days of the mailing of the notice of value. Assessor's staff will meet with you to review all information used in the valuation of your property as well as any information you provide that might be helpful in ensuring an accurate assessment. There are two methods for protesting values, denial of exemptions, classification, allocation of taxes to a governmental unit, or limitation in value increase, and are as follows:
NOV Mail Date: March 31, 2023
Protest Period: All protest forms must be returned to the Assessor's Office within 30 days of the the NOV mail date.
Under New Mexico State Law, Chapter 7, NMSA 1978, 7-38-17, the following exemptions are available for individual property taxation exemptions and institutional/governmental exemptions for eligible taxpayers:
Applications must be filed within 30 days of the mailing of the Notice of Value of the current tax year for which the exemption is to be applied.