Board of Public Utilities

The Department of Public Utilities (DPU) operates the county-owned electric, gas, water & wastewater systems under the jurisdiction and control of the Board of Public Utilities (BPU). The BPU consists of five voting members appointed by County Council. Serving as ex officio non-voting members are the utilities manager and county manager. Members serve five-year staggered terms. Each year, the BPU elects a chair and vice-chair from within its membership.


The BPU meets at 5:30 p.m. at the Municipal Building, Council Chambers at 1000 Central Avenue on the first Wednesday of each month for work sessions and the third Wednesday for regular sessions  These meetings are hybrid and individuals may also participate via Zoom. Special sessions may be called as needed, the location may vary, and proceedings may not be streamed live. Closed sessions are are also held as necessary.  All BPU session agendas are prepared and published at least 72 hours prior to the meeting. The agenda for every BPU session includes the time, location, and Zoom link (if applicable.)  Public comments are welcome at regular and work sessions and citizens may participate in person or remotely.  

Learn More

Authorization: Los Alamos County Charter (Article V) and Los Alamos County Ordinance No. 54, 11/1/66.


Staff Liaison: Philo S. Shelton, III, Utilities Manager 505.662.8132 or  

Staff Support: Kathy Casados, Executive Assistant 505.662.8136 or


 Headshot of Robert Gibson  
Robert Gibson

Term Ends: 6/30/2028

 Headshot of Eric Stromberg  
Eric Stromberg
Vice Chair

Term Ends: 6/30/2025

 Headshot of Charles Nakhleh

Charles Nakhleh

Term Ends: 6/30/2027

 Headshot of Steve Tobin

Steve Tobin

Term Ends: 6/30/2024

 placeholder silhouette headshot

Matt Heavner

Term Ends: 6/30/2026


Philo S. Shelton, III
Utilities Manager

Ex Officio Member

 Head shot of Steve Lynne

Steven Lynne
County Manager

Ex Officio Member


Theresa Cull
Council Vice Chair

Council Liaison to BPU