Board of Public Utilities
Contact Info
Read Watch IconThe Department of Public Utilities (DPU) operates the county-owned electric, gas, water & wastewater systems under the jurisdiction and control of the Board of Public Utilities (BPU).  The BPU consists of five voting members appointed by County Council.  The Utilities Manager and County Manager serve as ex-efficio non-voting members.  Members serve five-year staggered terms .  Each year, the BPU elects a Chair and Vice-chair from within its membership. 

2020_BPU Meeting Calendar.pdf

Regular BPU meetings are normally held the third Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Municipal Building Council Chambers at 1000 Central Avenue.  Special meetings may be called as needed with 72 hours notice.  The location of special meetings may vary and may not be streamed live.  Closed meetings are held as necessary with 72 hours notice.  BPU agendas are prepared and published at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.  The agenda for every regular BPU meeting includes time for comments from the public. 

 Public Attendance Prohibited at BPU May 20th Meeting

Watch the Meeting Live On-line and Submit Comments Via E-mail

The Los Alamos Board of Public Utilities (BPU) meeting scheduled in Room 110 on Wednesday, May 20, 2020 at 5:30 p.m. will continue using a format that complies with the recent New Mexico Department of Health’s public health emergency order governing mass gatherings because of COVID-19. The format was initially used for the March 25 and April 15 BPU meeting and that process is noted again for public reference below.

Public Health Emergency Order

Public in-person attendance Wednesday evening will not be allowed. Minimal County staff will be in attendance to present items and Members will be participating by phone. The agenda has been streamlined to focus on time-sensitive matters. Members of the public interested in watching the meeting can view the agenda and live-stream the meeting from home using this link and accessing the meeting for May 20:

View the Agenda & Download the Full Agenda Packet

The County encourages public comment via e-mail at Citizens are asked to type PUBLIC COMMENT in the subject line of the e-mail. Within the body of the e-mail, individuals should include a name, address, whether the comment pertains to a specific item on the agenda, and the comment. Public comments about items will be accepted prior to the meeting, to be read into the meeting at the appropriate time. In addition, the e-mail address will be monitored during the meeting for comments to be received during the live proceedings and read into the record when the Chair calls for public comment.


Authorization: Los Alamos County Charter (Article V) and Los Alamos County Ordinance No. 54, 11/1/66.


Staff Liaison: Philo S. Shelton, III, Utilities Manager 505.662.8132 or  

Staff Support: Jaime Kephart, Executive Assistant 505.662.8132 or



Jeff Johnson
Term Ends: 6/30/2020

Kathleen Taylor
Term Ends: 6/30/2021

Carrie Walker
Term Ends: 6/30/2022

Stephen McLin
Term Ends: 6/30/2023

Steve Tobin
Term Ends: 6/30/2024

Philo S. Shelton, III
Utilities Manager - Ex Officio Member

Harry Burgess
County Manager - Ex Officio Member

Randall Ryti
Council Liaison