Tourism Master Plan/Economic Development Strategic Plan
Contact Info
On April 17, 2017, the Council awarded a contract to Design Workshop, Inc. for the creation of a Tourism Strategic Plan in the amount of $178,870, plus applicable gross receipts tax.

Design Workshop held the initial kick-off meeting on May 10, 2017 and the project is on track to be completed in December 2017. 

Council solicited applicants for the steering committee. Twenty members were appointed to the committee on May 16. More details about this committee, which is now referred to as the Tourism Work Group (TWG), can be found at:

The website hosts information about the process, opportunities for the public to comment on the draft plan (once available), and a list of upcoming public meetings.

As part of this effort, the charter for this group indicated that a Manhattan Project National Historical Park (MAPR) subcommittee was needed. This subcommittee will focus on the issues that must be addressed to support the implementation of the new park. Recently, letters of interest for this subcommittee were solicited. Councilor Susan O'Leary, Chair of the Tourism Work Group, has appointed the following members:

Irene Powell*

Kristin Henderson*

Micheline Devauers*

David Jolly*

Andrea Romero*

Heather McClenahan*

Ben Neal

Fran Berting

Ed Birnbaum

Cindy Hayes

Neal Martin

Nancy Bartlit

Stephen Glick

Dave Miko

Mary Beth Maassen

Those members marked with an asterisk (*) are members of the Tourism Work Group as well.

For questions, contact Linda Matteson, Assistant to the County Manager, at (505) 662-8086 or send Linda an e-mail.