Department of Public Utilities

Philo SheltonUtilities Manager, Philo S. Shelton, III, P.E.

Operating under the jurisdiction and control of the Board of Public Utilities, the Los Alamos County Department of Public Utilities (DPU) is a customer service oriented municipal utility that provides electric, gas, water and sewer services for County residents and businesses and provides wholesale electric and water services to the Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL).

Need help with a utilities related issue, but aren't sure who to talk to?  Contact the Customer Care Center at or 505.662.8333

After-hours Emergencies
Call Police Dispatch at 505.662.8222


Report Icon
Draft Environmental Assessment - Reservoir Road Project
Notice of Availability of the Draft Environmental Assessment for the Los Alamos County Reservoir Road Project, NM, HMGP-DR-4199-NM Project #26
Read More
My Bill
Understanding My Utility Bill
Reading and understanding my utility bill from the Los Alamos Department of Public Utilities
Read More
Water Rule W-8
The Department of Public Utilities wants to remind water customers that Water Rule W-8 will be starting up on May 1st.
Read More
BPU Approved Rule GR-16 for Advanced Metering Infrastructure
The Board of Public Utilities approved General Rule GR-16 on Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) at a public hearing on February 20th, 2019. The Rule includes a provision under GR-16.03 to allow customers to opt out of the AMI project without penalty.
Read More
Future Energy Resources Committee, Reports and Implementation
A final Integrated Resource Plan (IRP) that assesses future electric power supply options for Los Alamos County is posted here as of August 1st. The electric power industry is changing dramatically to reduce its emissions of carbon dioxide and other “greenhouse” gases. The Board of Public Utilities (BPU) established in 2013 a goal for the Department of Public Utilities “to be a carbon neutral electric provider by 2040.”
Read More

Contact Info



1000 Central Ave., Suite 130

Mon - Fri

8:00 am - 4:00 pm